‘The Lord of the Rings’ by J. R. R. Tolkien

So, the Lord of the Rings.

This is one of those books that makes your knees tremble, the moment you the decide to write the review. Or better, not the book. The fandom.

Nonetheless, I’m going to try.

My father gave me the book when I was barely 11 or 12 years old. I looked at it with a mixture of awe and suspicion: awe because of its bulk (1000+ pages), suspicion because I was 12 and the book came from my father.

Yet, the life in the Shire hooked me in right from the start in such a way I was barely able to put it down.

Reading it again, it sounds almost absurd, considering Tolkien’s long-winded narrative, but my young mind must have been terribly thirsty for such an adventure.

I had never read anything like it. Very few books before that had given me such an adrenaline rush (they are ‘The Black Arrow‘ and ‘Ivanhoe’).

I distinctly remember reading entire passages over and over and every time giving the same enthusiastic yelp. I believe my parents almost got concerned I had developed a weird form a hiccup.

As for the story in itself, I feel as if there’s really little a can say without spoiling something or the other. So I’ll just say this:

Once there was a boy, a hobbit living in the Shire. His name was Frodo.

Once there was also a ring, a very powerful ring, with a very mysterious inscription:

“One ring to rule them all, One ring to find them;

One ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.”

That is the one ring the Dark Lord Sauron had created to basically rule the world. Frodo’s quest, as Gandalf bestows it upon him, is to destroy.

Naturally, that can’t be easy and to do it he will have to leave his beloved Shire and walk right into the lion’s den (or better into the volcano’s chamber).

There’s a lot more to the story than just Frodo’s quest, but to include everything in here would get too complicated.

The best piece of advice I can give to those who haven’t read the book and want to know the story is this: READ IT.

This is not a book, it’s an experience. This is history made, as Tolkien has positively invented the genre Fantasy by writing up this universe. This is the genuine article.

If a long read scares you, it might be easier to get one volume at a time.

            

Read them.

You will not find anything even remotely like this if you search the world.

Author: Lena's InkCage

I lived for 23 years in Italy, before giving my life a long-desired twist and leave University to fly to the UK, were I've been living ever since. I attended Creative Writing Courses, but I have also learned how to write poetry as well as screenwriting. At the moment, I am working as professional translator, English Teacher and Italian Tutor.

2 thoughts on “‘The Lord of the Rings’ by J. R. R. Tolkien”

  1. I think everyone has a story about that first time when he or she read The Lord of the Rings…
    For instance, I remember a foggy town in the Po Valley. Walking on the pavement of what is considered the most beautiful avenue in the world after Champs-Élysées. Nearly Winter. Speaking with my best friend about this Sense of Life, this huge Something that the book had communicated to us. We were thirteen. We had Plans. Perhaps we wanted to reach Rivendell… and jump into the Adventure, the Fight.

Leave a Reply

