‘Artemis Fowl’ by Eoin Colfer

There is no particular reason why I read this book.

I found it on my e-reader (yes, I have one), I was bored and I decided to read it.

There’s been a lot of talking about Artemis Fowl a few years ago, mostly because of its protagonist: a twelve-year old evil genius.

You see, it came out during the Harry Potter Years, when the focus was very much on books for Young Adults (teenagers, as we used to call them). Not only that, though, because one thing was to have a book for teenagers, another was to have a “‘Die Hard’ with faeries”, as Colfer calls it, for teenagers.

I can easily visualise stars in the eyes of the publishers when they heard the story, while a gigantic writing crossed their mind: JACKPOT!

That said, I can’t say I really liked the book that much.

True, it’s written in such a way that you can’t put it down, not even if you want to. Praise to that.

Also, I love a fairy and the underground world that the book uncovers is quite fascinating.

Not to mention, it feels nice to root for the bad guy, when the good guy is so unpleasant (talking about fairies in general).

What I didn’t like? Well, the human hatred that seeps through every word, for example. I am the first to say we should defend the environment, but the point in this book seems to be another: that human are pests. I can’t say I liked that very much.

Or the fact that there are only three (and I say 3) female characters: the fairy one passes most of the time judged upon or captured, one of the human is a classic ‘blonde and eyelashes’ and the third one, Artemis’s mother, is crazy. And thank you very much from the gender equality guys.

To be fair, Holly (the female fairy first judged, then trapped) is the one who saves the day. But what a trial she has to pass!

Apart from these ‘minor’ details, the story is quite engaging.

Artemis Fowl II is the last heir of the Fowl dynasty, a family who got very rich thanks to criminal activities. Unfortunately, Artemis’s father has disappeared, causing Artemis’s mother to go crazy, while the family patrimony has quickly lowered.

What Artemis wants more than anything else is to bring his family back to the long gone lustre (and his mother back to sanity).

How to do it?

By stealing fairy’s gold.

After all, there’s a pot of gold at the end of each rainbow, right?

Author: Lena's InkCage

I lived for 23 years in Italy, before giving my life a long-desired twist and leave University to fly to the UK, were I've been living ever since. I attended Creative Writing Courses, but I have also learned how to write poetry as well as screenwriting. At the moment, I am working as professional translator, English Teacher and Italian Tutor.

Leave a Reply

