Let’s go Camping! Well, almost…

It’s April!

You know what that means? CampNaNo!

What is it, you ask?

It’s a bit like NaNoWriMo (which happens in November), but with a couple of important differences.

  • You set your own writing goal.

You don’t have to write 50.000 words if you don’t want to and you don’t have to feel bad about it. You set your own goal, which can be as little as 4.000 words or even 100. I mean, make it one word a day, if that’s what suits you. The important thing is: WRITE!

  • You can do whatever you want.

Normally the idea is to create a novel or part of it. However, sometimes it’s something else you need to do. Maybe you are writing poetry. Maybe you are writing a play. Maybe you have been writing for months and now you need to edit your work. Well, you can do that.

This year, I am editing the Sci-Fi project I wrote during NaNo 2014 and CampNaNo 2015. It was a long project (and a long novel). It’s a story about people travelling to a different dimension and getting involved in all sorts of trouble. Well, it’s better than it sounds. I’m still working on the blurb.

I’ll go back to editing. In the meantime, enjoy the book cover I made up to upload to the CampNaNo website:

Worlds Apart

(The image is by artist Caroline Davis2010. Visit her profile on Flickr to find many more!)

 

Author: Lena's InkCage

I lived for 23 years in Italy, before giving my life a long-desired twist and leave University to fly to the UK, were I've been living ever since. I attended Creative Writing Courses, but I have also learned how to write poetry as well as screenwriting. At the moment, I am working as professional translator, English Teacher and Italian Tutor.

Leave a Reply

