‘My Life On The Road’ and ‘Quiet’

Last month I was reading two books at the same time:

‘My Life On The Road’ by Gloria Steinem, because that was the January book for the Our Shared Shelf book club (if you still don’t’ know what it is, I wrote about it here). Gloria Steinem is a journalist, feminist and activist in the USA, writing about her life on the road (as you might have guessed) and the wisdom that she earned that way.

 

‘Quiet – The Power of Introverts in a World that can’t stop Talking’ by Susan Cain, because I am an introvert and I needed someone to tell me that I was OK, despite everything. To write this book, Susan Cain has not only fished information from her own experience, but she also researched the psychology and neurology of personality, meeting professors and students, preachers and mentors, to understand what it means to be introvert (or extrovert).

 

There’s not a real reason to put the together in the same post, apart from the strange sensation I had while reading them: plenty of times, it seemed to me like I was reading one single book, instead of two.

This probably happened because I found this kind of quotes in ‘My Life On The Road’:

“One of the simplest paths to deep change is for the less powerful to speak as much as they listen, and for the more powerful to listen as much as they speak.”

Introduction – Road Signs

By Gloria Steinem

Then I turned to ‘Quiet’ and read:

“Montgomery, Alabama. December 1, 1955. Early evening. A public bus pulls to a stop and a sensibly dressed woman in her forties gets on. […] She sits in the first row of the Colored section and watches quietly as the bus fills with riders. Until the driver orders her to give her seat to a white passenger.

The woman utters a single word that ignites one of the most important civil rights protests of the twentieth century, one word that helps America find its better self.

The word is “No.”

The driver threatens to have her arrested.

“You may do that,” says Rosa Parks.”

Introduction: The North and South of Temperament

by Susan Cain

I am no activist, but it seems to me that the battle for gender equality and the one for introverts are one and the same.

And while we wait for the world to listen, I’ll leave you with this:

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

