This is the day! – The Chair (A comedy of the absurd in three acts)

THYes, this is the day.

The day we finally go on stage.

The day my first play is performed in front of an audience.

The day I step on the stage to welcome a crowd (hopefully) of people. The day I leave the stage saying “Enjoy the show”, knowing that’s my show they will enjoy.

Oddly enough, I am not nervous. People keep on texting me and telling me that I probably am, that’s a big day and that it’s normal that I didn’t sleep last night.

They are right, of course, and yet, I can’t really say I am nervous.

Is it because I know I have three brilliant talents to deliver the lines I wrote? Or is it because there’s a great director assisting me in this quest? Or is it because I am just oblivious of what is really going to happen?

I am probably going to crack in the afternoon.

For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, you can catch up here. Or just keep on reading.

“The Chair” is a comedy of the absurd I wrote following a prompt of my writing teacher and mentor Elisabeth Winkler, which went something like: write a scene about conflict, where two characters are competing for a seat.

I took it quite literally and the spark for this fair of madness lighted up an entire universe, one divided in the world of the IN, where people sit down and wait for their turn to go to the world of the OUT. But is it really worth the wait? Is this OUT really the promise land everyone believes it to be?

We’ll find out the answer tonight at the Event Space of the Hamilton House in Stokes Croft, Bristol, UK. Starting at 7.30pm.

It will look pretty much like this:

IMG_0020
Ricky (James Guy), Patrick (Josh Stevens) and The Girl (Rachel Duc), bartering for their life in the OUT world.

 

IMG_0033
Patrick and Ricky… well… waiting.
Author: Lena's InkCage

I lived for 23 years in Italy, before giving my life a long-desired twist and leave University to fly to the UK, were I've been living ever since. I attended Creative Writing Courses, but I have also learned how to write poetry as well as screenwriting. At the moment, I am working as professional translator, English Teacher and Italian Tutor.

1 thought on “This is the day! – The Chair (A comedy of the absurd in three acts)”

Leave a Reply

