This year, we have ‘Our Shared Shelf’.

Let me introduce you to Emma Watson, but I bet you already know her.

She was the clever (sometimes pedantic) Hermione in the Harry Potter films. She was the troubled teenager Sam in ‘Perks of being a Wallflower’. She is the UN Women Goodwill Ambassador.

Also, she’s 25, but that’s not the reason I am writing about her (even though it kind of gets me that she’s only one year younger than me…).

This 2016, as many of you already know, she has started a worldwide, feminist book club called “Our Shared Shelf” (a name she got via twitter from one of her followers), after the predicaments of the campaign she is spokeswoman for, ‘HeForShe‘ about gender equality. Of course, I joined (together with my book-guru The Artist’s Room).

This what the profile picture of the group looks like at the moment.

You can find the book club on Goodreads by clicking on the image, or on this link.

Needless to mention, everybody is going crazy. There are almost 85.000 group members and probably just as many discussions open. People are suggesting the next book as if they were dying to tell Emma about it (sometimes I share the feeling…).

I can’t even start thinking about how many people picked up a book only because Emma organised this.

In January we pick up ‘My Life on the Road’, by Gloria Steiner.

I read the introduction as kindle sample, before starting on this quest. I’m not going to lie to you, I felt stupid and ignorant. Also a bit like I felt when I read ‘Just Kids‘ by Patti Smith.

I bought the book.

If ‘My Life on the Road’ is the book to start with, then something tells me that ‘Our Shared Shelf’ will not just be about feminism or gender equality. I am pretty sure each book will touch as many soft spots in our soul as we allow ourselves to recognize.

So come on, what are you waiting for? Click on the link and follow the group.

 

 

P.S. Thank you, Emma.

 

 

Author: Lena's InkCage

I lived for 23 years in Italy, before giving my life a long-desired twist and leave University to fly to the UK, were I've been living ever since. I attended Creative Writing Courses, but I have also learned how to write poetry as well as screenwriting. At the moment, I am working as professional translator, English Teacher and Italian Tutor.

1 thought on “This year, we have ‘Our Shared Shelf’.”

Leave a Reply

