2015 – A year in books (Part 2)

It is always fairly stunning to look at the pile of books read in the last 52 weeks.

I am talking about 61 books, each of which reminds me of some event, situation, mood or accomplishment.

For example Kate Chopin and her ‘The Awakening‘, which I read on my way down to visit my family for my niece’s first birthday, one of those events that are way more exciting for adults than for children.

Then there’s ‘White Apples’, written by Jonathan Carroll in what clearly was his attempt to get to the end of something that not even he knew what it was. Despite that, it was a thrilling adventure and a greatly enjoyed Christmas present, from the first Christmas my partner and I spent together, read on a bus to London, where we would spend a magical weekend. It’s amazing to think it’s already one year past.

From my Book-Guru advice, not only ‘The Awakening’ but also ‘If you follow me‘ by Malena Watrous, a book the shed a new light on Japan and its traditions, even in modern times; ‘Freedom’ by Jonathan Franzen, a book that I should have probably read in my 50s, but nevermind; ‘The Road’ by Cormac McCarthy, which I just finished and I still need to metabolize; and finally ‘The Art of Dramatic Writing’ by Lajos Egri, which is nothing less that a bible for playwrights.

Although let’s not forget this is the year I went my ‘Artists’s Way‘ with Julia Cameron and travelled the globe with Elizabeth Gilbert and her ‘Eat, Pray, Love‘.

It’s also the year I discovered the genius of Paul Auster in his ‘The New York Trilogy‘, I learned about Chinese culture with Amy Tan and ‘The Bonesetter’s Daughter‘, as well as move to Congo with Barbara Kingsolver and ‘The Poisonwood Bible‘.

Of course there are many more, but these are the books that influenced my year the most.

Let’s not forget this is also the year I wrote a play (‘The Chair – A Comedy of the Absurd in Three Acts‘, to be performed in Bristol, UK the 28/01 and 29/01)! I also had it workshopped in July and you can read about it here.

Oh, and I did NaNoWriMo! And I won!

Too many things, I can’t go on listing…

In short, if there is anything I hope from 2016, it is to have a year half as filled with wonderful books and great opportunities as the last one has been.

Thanks for reading so far into my blog.

Season’s Greetings and I’ll see you on the other side!

Leave a Reply

