2015 – An year in books (Part 1)

It’s curious to look back on the past year through the books I have read.

It’s one of the reasons why I log every book I read in Goodreads, so that at the end of the year I end up with a tidy and nice summary of all the books that stayed with me and took me by the hand to walk me along the path through 2015.

In 2015 I read 59 books, for a total amount of 15,785 pages, for an average length of 277 pages. Lots of numbers, but little meaning, really. Let’s go deeper.

 

 

Goodreads tells me that the shortest book I have read is ‘Little Bear Lost’ by Jane Hissey, 32 pages. Well, it’s a children’s book, what did you expect? A book about the dangers of falling asleep while playing hide and seek. Thrilling.

 


The longest, instead, has been ‘Breaking Dawn’ by Stephenie Meyer. Because yes, I read all the three books. I almost collapsed during the second and third, while I truly dragged myself to the end of this last one. Let’s just say, it’s really disappointing when the final showdown ends up being so… well… quiet.

(I have deeper thoughts about ‘Breaking Dawn’, really, and not all of them are bad, but I’ll leave them to another post.)

 

 

The most popular (not surprisingly) has been ‘Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secret’ by J.K. Rowling, which I read as a child, but I strongly wanted to read again in English (I read it in Italian the first time). Definitely NOT disappointing. I still love it.

 

 

 

The prize for the Highest Rated on Goodreads goes to ‘Lighter than my Shadow’ by Katie Green. Now, this is a book I would like to get you attention on.

‘Lighter than my shadow’ is the hand-drawn story of Katie’s own story, her teenage years through anorexia, binge eating and dangerous relationships. I read it in a couple of hours and I found it heart-breaking and absolutely wonderful. Worth reading and keeping it close.

 

 

Then there’s a bunch of other books I have gone through, but I think this is quite enough for today. I’ll be back with part two in a while…

Author: Lena's InkCage

I lived for 23 years in Italy, before giving my life a long-desired twist and leave University to fly to the UK, were I've been living ever since. I attended Creative Writing Courses, but I have also learned how to write poetry as well as screenwriting. At the moment, I am working as professional translator, English Teacher and Italian Tutor.

Leave a Reply

