The Girl with the Wooden Glasses

Something is worth knowing, from a very dear friend…

This article was originally published in Italian on Bookavenue.

“Io Leggo Perché…”  

I Read Because…

Last month in Rome I was attracted by a large panel in front of a bookshop. Passers-by could take a post-it, write their sentence and stick it on the panel. “I Read Because I need to dream”, “I Read Because the journey by train is too long!”, “I Read Because I want to forget my mother-in-law”…

Foto_Ragazza_occhialiI was overwhelmed by memories. I realized that every book I had loved was – in its own way – a proclaim on the redeeming power of imagination and words. I thought about the last one I had bought, which had been laying on my table for days. I didn’t have the courage to open it: in addition to the painful empathy for the story, I wondered how I could…

View original post 1,205 more words

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

