I decided to follow The Artist’s Way…

So, a couple of weeks ago I picked up my copy of ‘The Artist’s Way’, the creative guide written by Julia Cameron, and decided to give it a go.

Not that I’m particularly traumatized in a creative way and certainly I am not rejecting my own creative child, but I felt a bit stuck and slightly unable to pour myself out on the pages as I used to do, so I thought: “Why not?”

It’s just been two weeks, so I can’t really say if it works or not, but one think I can tell you: it’s good fun!

Since it’s all about nurturing your inner creative child, Julia asks you to go back to those carefree days, when your main concern was how to name the new doll (or robot) you got for your birthday.

20150503_182356
The wooden skeleton (on the left) and the robot Meccano (on the right). There’s also an octopus, it’s called Piovra. She’s an old friend.

Hence, since I started the course, I have been: building robot Meccano, assembling wooden skeletons, cross stitching lionesses and taking myself out on dates with doughnuts and chips.

There’s a part of “duties” as well, of course, but homework quickly turns into pleasure with ‘The Artist’s Way’. The famous Morning Pages are by now an addiction, at the point that I don’t feel all right starting my day until I have done them (because you DO them, you don’t WRITE them).

While the first week was about Recovering a Sense of Safety, the second week has been about Recovering a Sense of Identity. I completed my tasks today, by making a small coffee cup using clay.

I am ready for the next step: Recovering a Sense of Power. I like that one.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

