The Napkin Folder

What follows is not me talking about a book.

Instead, it’s the result of an extraordinary digression of my mind in very ordinary moment of my life.

Trying to catch the purest translation of my thoughts (and because I’m pretty lazy this evening), I’m giving you an extract of my journal and I introduce you to the Napkin Folder:

“[…]However, the real highlight of the day was during the very quiet shift I had at the café this evening.

The character, this time, was a Napkin Folder. I can imagine this tall and thin man, with long moustaches that curl up at the end and the tallest top hat [an undertaker hat, they tell me], which is dark blue, with a dark red ribbon on the fold.

The Napkin Folder travels the world simply doing that, folding napkins. He folds them in the shape of tulips for the florist in Amsterdam; on the shape of a tea cup for the English lady; on the shape of a camel for the Bedouin of the Sahara.

One day, he met a child and asked him what was that he desired the most in his life. The child answered that his greatest desire was to fly and the Napkin Folder took out a napkin and folded it in the shape of a pair of wings. He told the child to wait for a very windy day, then to take out those wings and lift them high over his head, then the wind would do the rest and the magic would be accomplished.

Believe it or not, that child was flying no more than a week later, surfing the winds over his house.

Another day, a young girl went to find him and asked for the love of his life to come back from the war. The Napkin Folder took out a napkin and folded it in the shape of a swollen heart. He told the girl to whisper her beloved’s name to the heart and then wait. She did as she was told and her fiancé broke his leg on duty and got sent home, back to her, in less than a month.

It might sound like the most stupid job in the world, but the Napkin Folder was one of the most incredible men that ever lived. He whispered his magic into his napkin and folded them into dream shapes.

As I said, it was a very quiet shift. […]”

I don’t want to be too much of a disappointment, so I’d like to share with you the book the brought my imagination back to life during the last week: “Zen in the art of Writing” by Ray Bradbury.

It’s a collection of essays written by Ray during the many years of his fantastic career – and there’s no better adjective to describe it, other than fantastic!

Check it out: Zen in the Art of Writing

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

