THE LIEBSTER AWARD

I have kindly been nominated for The Liebster Award by artistroom at The Artist’s Room. Thank you!

These are the rules:

The Liebster Award is awarded to bloggers with under 200 followers to try to promote their blog a little and also bring together a community of bloggers. The rules of the competition are as follows:

  • The nominated user must provide a link back to the person who nominated them.
  • Provide 11 facts about yourself.
  • Answer 11 questions set by the person who nominated you.
  • Choose 11 more people and ask them 11 questions.

11 facts about me:

1) I love stories, no matter if it is about reading, listening or writing them. You tell me a story and I start melting.

2) Since I grew up (what a terrible thing that is), I started an addiction to my car and to coffee. This is one of the ways in which England changed my life: no car and terrible coffee – I converted myself to tea.

3) I play the guitar. Sometimes I like to cuddle in my room and play and sing my favourite songs (mostly out of tune…).

4) I started practising yoga three months ago.

5) I’m an avid reader and I always carry a book with me, anywhere I go.

6) I attended university with the clear purpose of becoming a world-renowned biologist. Then I got bored and flew to England.

7) I love nature and I love woods. Most of all, I like getting lost amongst the trees. That’s why I have to bless the GPS in my phone for saving me so many times.

8) When I have an appointment, I’m obsessed about getting there on time. As a result, I get there very much in advance, decide to have a walk while I wait and end up being late anyway. It happens regularly.

9) I have a cat back in Italy, he lives with my family. He’s called Pele’, but I loath the name and call him ‘Gatto’ (italian for ‘cat’). He likes it better as well.

10) I have worked as Coffee and Dessert Maker for some time, while I went around describing my job as a food-version of IKEA.

11) I like the rain and I like walking in the rain. Well, to some extent, at least.

11 answers about me:

1) Your favourite books. Immediately!

I love the plural in the question! Let’s see… I’ve had many favourite books in different parts of my life. The first one was certainly ‘The jungle book’, which I just couldn’t stop reading. Then I met Stephen King and I got the most brilliant realization reading ‘On Writing’. Another one that opened my eyes and stayed with me for a long time is ‘Reading Lolita in Teheran’, by Azar Nafisi. More recently, then, I fell in love with John Greene and his heartbreaking stories, first of all ‘The Fault in Our Stars’. But these are just the tip of the iceberg…

2) Where do you come from and where do you live? How the places affect your life.

I come from a small town in Italy, called Ferrara. I live in Bristol, UK. The place I live has never been as important as the amount of ghosts I manage to bring with me. Ferrara was full of ghosts. Bristol is ghosts-free, which means I am free as well.

3) Please, tell me three good and bad things about your home country or the country you live in.

Three bad things about England: 1) coffee (they really don’t know how to do it…); 2) fashion (call it the London look, I call it rubbing yourself with glue and jump into the closet to see what sticks…); 3) the wind, because I don’t mind the weather, but I can’t walk in a wind storm every time I have to make grocery, as if I lived in Siberia.
Three good things about England: 1) spring, because when the daffodils are in bloom you even forget about the wind… and then it only gets better; 2) fashion, because the way everybody dresses, there’s no need to be bothered about what anybody will think about my outfit tonight (this is freedom!); 3) people, from all over the world, different and the same, all brought together in the great multicultural society of England.

4) Do you want to move?

I already have and no, not just for now. Maybe later.

5) Why do you have a blog? What would you like to give to others?

For years I have striven to persuade people to read the same books I’ve been so passionate about. They looked at me as if I was the craziest person and invariably answered something like “Yeah, but you know, I don’t really read much… only magazines.” That’s why I decided to start my blog, to write about the story of me and those books and to share it with those who care about books just as much as I do.

6) If you could choose your job and where to live, what would you do?

What a good question. If I had to choose a job I would say writer. As for where, everywhere. If I could, I wouldn’t stay more than a months in the same place.

7) Do you have hobbies?

Well, I read, I write and I do yoga. Sometimes, I walk (to go to some nice place to read, or to clear my mind before writing, or because I have to reach the studio for my yoga class).

8) The best journey I have ever had.

The one that brought me to England two years ago. Technically, I’m still doing it.

9) If you met Obama, what would you tell him?

Unfortunately, I don’t follow the man as much as I probably should. Truth is I might as well talk to him as if he was the next person I meet at the Cafe.

10) A person you deeply admire.

My sister, for her strength and her wit, as well as for all the littles miracle she managed to achieve, showing me the extraordinary nature of an ordinary life.

11) A quote (or more than one) that you really love.

The first one is from ‘The Wonderful Wizard of Oz’, by L. Frank Baum and since I read it, it landed into my heart and there stayed. It’s the Tin Woodman that says: “I have no heart, you know, so I am careful to help all those who may need a friend, even if it happens to be only a mouse”.

The second one is from “Seagull Jonathan Livingston’, by Richard Bach, and goes: “If your happiness depends on what somebody else does, I guess you do have a problem”.

The third (and last one) comes from ‘My Name is Red’, by Orhan Pamuk: “I’d been living luminously between eternities of darkness”.

11 blogs I nominate:

1) An Academic Life

2) Read&Survive

3) Bristol Bookworm’s Review

4) The Avid Reader – Books, Books, Books!

5) Dynamite Review

6) Lekmann Photo

7) Dog-Eared

8) Drunken Dragon Reviews

9) BookReviews Forevermore

10) The Artist’s Room

11) What To Read Now

My questions:

1) If you had the chance to go out for dinner with a fairytale character, who (or what) would it be?

2) What is the first story (read or heard) that enchanted you?

3) What is your favourite thing in the world? (Anything admitted)

4) You’re given the chance to make a talk at TED (or anyway, a talk that many will listen to). What would you talk about?

5) If your life was a film, what would be its soundtrack?

6) You are moving into a new house and you have an extra room to fill in. What would you do with it?

7) What do you think, when you think about Nature?

8) Your best quality? Your worst flaw? (No need to be modest, here)

9) So… all of time and space, everything that ever happened or ever will – where do you want to start? (Yes, it’s a quote, so sue me.)

10) If you could talk to a thirteen-year-old you, what would you tell yourself?

11) You are leaving today to start an adventure in a new country on the other side of the world. Pick three objects you can’t possibly leave without.

Author: Lena's InkCage

I lived for 23 years in Italy, before giving my life a long-desired twist and leave University to fly to the UK, were I've been living ever since. I attended Creative Writing Courses, but I have also learned how to write poetry as well as screenwriting. At the moment, I am working as professional translator, English Teacher and Italian Tutor.

4 thoughts on “THE LIEBSTER AWARD”

Leave a Reply

